Welcome to our forums!

Sign In or Register to gain full access to our forums. By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

Photo

Big Green Egg

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 ATLchief

ATLchief

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 817 posts
  • LocationRichmond, VA

Posted 12 September 2016 - 12:31 AM

Well, the title says it all.  Those of you that enjoy cooking outside of your kitchen have surely heard of it.

I've been gazing longingly at them for several years.  Sort of like you would gaze upon the hot girl in high school that you never had a chance with.

Well, this weekend I finally banged the hot girl (metaphorically speaking). 

I turn 50 on the 20th of this month, and several of my relatives pitched in to purchase me a Large Big Green Egg (they go all the way up to XXLarge).

It was given to me yesterday.  I spent the rest of the day assembling it, and researching the cooking method.

Started off nice and easy today with some wings.  Cooked with indirect heat, pretty low and slow (350 for an hour).  Dusted them with an Asian-style rub that I like, and added just a bit of smoke before throwing them on.

The end result was very encouraging.  Juicy as hell with a nice crust from the rub.  My neighbor was losing his mind over them.

If anyone gives a shit, I'll be keeping you posted on my adventures with this fantastic grill/oven/smoker.

If you don't care, then sorry.  I'll still be keeping you posted anyway.

• Mugsy and aimeeml4 like this

#2 Semo

Semo

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4,472 posts

Posted 12 September 2016 - 12:41 AM

Congrats.  They are nice.

#3 Chiefsfan1963

Chiefsfan1963

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,739 posts

Posted 12 September 2016 - 12:45 AM

Never used the egg. I personally have the Char-Griller Trio. Gas, charco and smoker in one. I have heard great things about the egg though.

#4 arrowhead